Annual Events

While Boone, NC, is a favorite mountain vacation spot, it also offers some of the best festivals and annual events in the southeast. From winter rail jams to wine and food fests, the Boone area has something for everyone. 

Grandfather Mountain New Year's Sunrise

Friday, January 01, 2021

Ring in a epic New Year on Tuesday, Jan. 1, for the first sunrise of 2020 - atop Grandfather Mountain. This special event will allow...

Meltdown Games

Friday, March 26, 2021 - Sunday, March 28, 2021

Winter isn’t over until we say it is. Come enjoy Appalachian’s classic end of the winter celebration on Saturday, March 21 and Sunday,...

MerleFest 2021

Thursday, April 29, 2021 - Sunday, May 02, 2021

MerleFest, considered one of the premier music festivals in the country, is an annual homecoming of musicians and music fans held on...

Animal Birthday Party at Grandfather Mountain

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Grandfather Mountain celebrates the birthdays of all the animals in the park with games, contests, crafts and surprises. The mountain's...

The Remarkable Rhododendron Ramble

Saturday, May 30, 2020 - Sunday, June 07, 2020

A series of 20-minute walks will highlight Grandfather Mountain's rhododendron species and blooms. On Sunday, June 7, from 10:30 a.m....

Doc Watson Day Celebration

Friday, June 19, 2020 - Friday, June 18, 2021

The 2020 Doc Watson Day Celebration at the Jones House has been canceled. The Jones House and the Town of Boone celebrate Doc Watson...

Singing on the Mountain

Sunday, June 27, 2021

The all-day gospel sing and fellowship returns to MacRae Meadows at Grandfather Mountain for its 96th year!! Top gospel groups will...

Annual Heritage Day and Wood Kiln Opening

Saturday, June 27, 2020

Event information is subject to change, please visit the website above for more information. This annual event is always slated for the...

Fireworks Extravaganza at Tweetsie Railroad

Saturday, July 04, 2020

Event information is subject to change, please call the number or visit the website above to learn more. Enjoy the most spectacular...

Boone 4th of July Parade

Saturday, July 04, 2020

Event information is subject to change, please call the number or visit the website above. The Downtown Boone annual 4th of July parade...

Town of Boone Fireworks

Saturday, July 04, 2020

Event information is subject to change, please check the website or call the number above to learn more. Join in the festivities at...

Grandfather Mountain Highland Games

Thursday, July 08, 2021 - Sunday, July 11, 2021

Blaring bagpipes, astounding athletes, delicate dancers, rocking Celtic music and a spectacular highland setting make this colorful...

Horn In The West outdoor drama

Friday, June 19, 2020 - Saturday, August 08, 2020

For the first time in its 69 season history, "Horn in the West" will not be presented due to the concerns associated with COVID-19....

13th Annual High Country Beer Fest

Saturday, August 22, 2020

The 13th annual High Country Beer Fest is set for another amazing lineup of approximately 50 regional and national craft breweries...

Riders In The Sky at Tweetsie Railroad

Saturday, August 15, 2020 - Sunday, August 16, 2020

Performances at Noon and 3 p.m., both Saturday and Sunday. An annual event! Come hear Grammy Award-winning music and comedy from...

Ghost Train

Friday, September 25, 2020 - Saturday, October 31, 2020

Tweetsie Railroad transforms from the Wild West into a haunted park with Halloween thrills and chills for all ages. The highlight of...

The Blowing Rock Music Festival

Saturday, September 19, 2020

Rain or Shine. Gates open at 9am, music begins at 11am. No pets, no umbrellas, lawn chairs and coolers welcome. VIP tents are...

Appalachian Ski Mountain - Anniversary Weekend

Friday, December 04, 2020 - Sunday, December 06, 2020

Celebrate Appalachian Ski Mountain's 59th year of family fun as they roll back tickets to 1962 prices! $5 Ski Tickets for the Day...

Tweetsie Christmas

Friday, November 27, 2020 - Saturday, December 12, 2020

Celebrate the holiday season as Tweetsie Railroad transforms into a winter wonderland for Tweetsie Christmas! Enjoy a nighttime train...