Annual Events

While Boone, NC, is a favorite mountain vacation spot, it also offers some of the best festivals and annual events in the southeast. From winter races on the slopes to songwriting fests, the Boone area has something for everyone. 

Art in the Park

Saturday, June 15, 2024 - Saturday, October 05, 2024

Art in the Park was created in 1962 by a handful of area artists and craftspeople to showcase local talent; it's now host to 90...

Grandfather Mountain's Rhododendron Ramble

Thursday, May 30, 2024 - Sunday, June 02, 2024

Take a daily, short, guided stroll at 1 PM that highlights Grandfather Mountain’s rhododendron species and blooms. Included with...

Roots in the Garden Concert Series

Thursday, May 30, 2024 - Thursday, September 05, 2024

The Daniel Boone Native Gardens in Boone is  hosting a summer concert series — the second annual Roots in the Garden. Schedule:...

Blowing Rock Charity Horse Show - Saddlebred Division

Thursday, June 06, 2024 - Monday, June 10, 2024

Head to the Broyhill Equestrian Preserve in Blowing Rock for the Saddlebred Division and the first weekend of the Blowing Rock Charity...

High Country Jazz Festival

Friday, June 07, 2024 - Sunday, June 09, 2024

The High Country Jazz Festival presented by Mast General Store with additional support from Explore Boone has a fabulous line-up for...

Summer Concerts at the Jones House

Friday, June 07, 2024 - Friday, August 30, 2024

Get ready to groove and unwind as the Town of Boone presents the 2024 Summer Concerts at the Jones House series, spicing up downtown...

Boonerang Music & Arts Festival

Friday, June 14, 2024 - Saturday, June 15, 2024

Boonerang Music & Arts Festival celebrates Boone, North Carolina with a free downtown street festival; this community homecoming...

Animal Birthday Party at Grandfather Mountain

Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Join us to celebrate the birthdays of our resident animals with games, contests, crafts, and surprises. The park’s wildlife habitat...

Horn In The West Outdoor Drama

Friday, June 21, 2024 - Saturday, August 10, 2024

Horn In The West is our nation's longest-running Revolutionary War outdoor drama. The play brings to life the story of the hardy...

Blood, Sweat, and Gears Cycling Event

Saturday, June 22, 2024

From humble beginnings, Blood Sweat and Gears, aka BSG, has grown into the North Carolina High Country’s premier cycling event....

Blowing Rock's 4th of July Parade

Saturday, July 06, 2024

Join the town of Blowing Rock for the best small-town Main Street parade you’ll find anywhere! Local families, musicians,...

Grandfather Mountain Highland Games

Thursday, July 11, 2024 - Sunday, July 14, 2024

Blaring bagpipes, astounding athletes, delicate dancers, rocking Celtic music and a spectacular highland setting make this colorful...

Annual Fairy Day in the Gardens

Saturday, July 13, 2024

Join us for an enchanting afternoon in the gardens with vendors, food and FAIRIES!! Fun, educational activities for kids, music and...

Doc & Rosa Lee Watson MusicFest

Friday, July 19, 2024 - Saturday, July 20, 2024

The Doc and Rosa Lee Watson MusicFest is held at the Historic Cove Creek School. The festival hosts local, regional, and nationally...

Boone Gran Fondo Cycling Event

Sunday, August 04, 2024

The Annual Boone Gran Fondo cycling event features three awe-inspiring scenic and challenging routes through the Boone Area of the Blue...

Symphony by the Lake

Friday, July 19, 2024

Experience a moving performance by the Symphony of the Mountains. Surrounded by the beautiful Blue Ridge landscape, take your seat on...

Blowing Rock Charity Horse Show - Hunter/Jumper Division

Tuesday, July 23, 2024 - Monday, July 29, 2024

Head to the Broyhill Equestrian Preserve for the second week of the Hunter/Jumper Division of the Blowing Rock Charity Horse Show....

Blowing Rock Charity Horse Show - Hunter/Jumper Division

Tuesday, July 30, 2024 - Monday, August 05, 2024

Head to the Broyhill Equestrian Preserve for the first week of the Hunter/Jumper Division of the Blowing Rock Charity Horse Show....

53rd Annual Girl Scout Day

Saturday, September 21, 2024

Girl Scouts are invited to join the park’s naturalists for a fun-filled learning adventure on Grandfather Mountain. Plus, all Girl...

Animal Enrichment Day

Wednesday, July 31, 2024

On Animal Enrichment Day, guests see firsthand how Grandfather Mountain cares for its resident animals. An enrichment is a special...

Doc Watson Day Celebration

Friday, August 16, 2024

The Jones House and the Town of Boone celebrate Doc Watson Day with a free concert dedicated to his memory. The Jones House invites...

Doc Watson Day Celebration at the Appalachian Theatre

Saturday, August 17, 2024

Scythian and Brooks Forsyth will perform a special concert in memory of 7-time Grammy-winning musical legend, Doc Watson, at the...

HawkWatch

Sunday, September 01, 2024 - Tuesday, October 01, 2024

Throughout September, guests are invited to join the mountain’s naturalists as they count and celebrate the annual spectacle of the...

Autumn at Oz

Friday, September 06, 2024 - Sunday, September 22, 2024

Travel Over the Rainbow to Beech Mountain, NC, and celebrate Land of Oz's annual Autumn at Oz Festival - one of the world’s largest...

Antlers and Acorns, The Boone Songwriters Festival

Wednesday, September 04, 2024 - Saturday, September 07, 2024

In September the music will come to the mountain. For three days and four nights, over 30 great songwriters in Americana come to the...

Oktoberfest at Sugar Mountain Resort

Saturday, October 12, 2024 - Sunday, October 13, 2024

There are lots of reasons you'll want to grab your beer stein, put on your Lederhosen or your Dirndl and head to Sugar Mountain Resort...

Valle Country Fair

Saturday, October 19, 2024

The Valle Country Fair is an overgrown church bazaar set in the center of one of the most picturesque valleys in the North Carolina...

Woolly Worm Festival

Saturday, October 19, 2024 - Sunday, October 20, 2024

There will be tons of family fun, food, and craft vendors on both Saturday and Sunday. Don't forget to bring your woolly worm for the...

Festive First Friday and Solar Tree Lighting

Friday, December 06, 2024

The town of Boone's Festive First Friday celebration and Solar Tree Lighting will take place on December 1st. Galleries and shops in...

MerleFest 2025

Thursday, April 24, 2025 - Sunday, April 27, 2025

MerleFest, considered one of the premier music festivals in the country, is an annual homecoming of musicians and music fans held on...