Annual Events

While Boone, NC, is a favorite mountain vacation spot, it also offers some of the best festivals and annual events in the southeast. From winter rail jams to wine and food fests, the Boone area has something for everyone. 

Grandfather Mountain New Year's Sunrise

Friday, January 01, 2021

Ring in a epic New Year on Tuesday, Jan. 1, for the first sunrise of 2020 - atop Grandfather Mountain. This special event will allow...

Blowing Rock Winterfest

Thursday, January 23, 2020 - Sunday, January 26, 2020

Blowing Rock celebrates winter with four days of fun and events for the whole family from the Polar Plunge to Ice Carving, hayrides to...

Beech Mountain Retro '80s Weekend

Thursday, February 20, 2020 - Sunday, February 23, 2020

Each February, the Town of Beech Mountain and Beech Mountain Resort come together to create a righteously rad celebration of all things...

Daniel Boone Rail Jam

Saturday, March 14, 2020

6th Annual Daniel Boone Rail Jam, a unique ski and snowboard competition. *guaranteed snow making *over $4,000 in cash prizes (plus...

Banff Center Mountain Film Festival World Tour

Friday, March 20, 2020 - Saturday, March 21, 2020

Boone celebrates the return of one of North America's largest screenings of the Banff Centre Mountain Film Festival World Tour,...

Meltdown Games

Saturday, March 21, 2020 - Sunday, March 22, 2020

Winter isn’t over until we say it is. Come enjoy Appalachian’s classic end of the winter celebration on Saturday, March 21 and Sunday,...

St. Patrick's Day Parade

Saturday, March 14, 2020

Lucky to be in Boone! The Town of Boone and the Jones House Cultural and Community Center are proud to announce that on Saturday, March...

Easter EGGstravaganza

Saturday, April 04, 2020

The Annual Downtown Boone Easter Eggstravaganza is a fun, family-friendly event for all ages, held on Saturday a week before Easter....

41st Annual Blowing Rock Trout Derby

Saturday, April 04, 2020

The 41st Annual Derby begins at sunrise on Saturday, prizes awarded at 4:30 pm. Win prizes for biggest fish in separate age categories....

Tweetsie Railroad Opening Day

Friday, April 03, 2020

Tweetsie Railroad will open for its 2020 season with daytime operations beginning April 3, 2020, on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays, 9...

MerleFest 2020

Thursday, April 23, 2020 - Sunday, April 26, 2020

MerleFest, considered one of the premier music festivals in the country, is an annual homecoming of musicians and music fans held on...

Animal Birthday Party at Grandfather Mountain

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Grandfather Mountain celebrates the birthdays of all the animals in the park with games, contests, crafts and surprises. The mountain's...

The Remarkable Rhododendron Ramble

Monday, June 01, 2020 - Sunday, June 07, 2020

From June 1-7, a series of 20-minute walks will highlight Grandfather Mountain's rhododendron species and blooms. On Sunday, June 7,...

Doc Watson Day Celebration

Friday, June 19, 2020 - Friday, June 18, 2021

The Jones House and the Town of Boone celebrate Doc Watson Day with a free concert dedicated to his memory. Every year, the Jones House...

Singing on the Mountain

Sunday, June 28, 2020

The all-day gospel sing and fellowship returns to MacRae Meadows at Grandfather Mountain for its 96th year!! Top gospel groups will...

Annual Heritage Day and Wood Kiln Opening

Saturday, June 27, 2020

This annual event is always slated for the last Saturday in June, 10 a.m. till 4 p.m. Entertainment: Live music all day with The Dollar...

Fireworks Extravaganza at Tweetsie Railroad

Saturday, July 04, 2020

Enjoy the most spectacular fireworks show in the High Country! It's one of the most popular Summer events in the mountains. Spend the...

Boone 4th of July Parade

Saturday, July 04, 2020

The Downtown Boone annual 4th of July parade travels east on King Street, starting at the intersection with Poplar Grove Extension and...

Town of Boone Fireworks

Saturday, July 04, 2020

Join in the festivities at Clawson/Burnley Park at 355 Hunting Hills Lane (off State Farm Rd.) starting with DJ music at 7:00 pm and...

Grandfather Mountain Highland Games

Thursday, July 09, 2020 - Sunday, July 12, 2020

Blaring bagpipes, astounding athletes, delicate dancers, rocking Celtic music and a spectacular highland setting make this colorful...

Horn In The West outdoor drama

Friday, June 19, 2020 - Saturday, August 08, 2020

Horn In The West is our nation's longest-running Revolutionary War outdoor drama. The play brings to life the story of the hardy...

13th Annual High Country Beer Fest

Saturday, August 22, 2020

The 13th annual High Country Beer Fest is set for another amazing lineup of approximately 50 regional and national craft breweries...

Riders In The Sky at Tweetsie Railroad

Saturday, August 15, 2020 - Sunday, August 16, 2020

Performances at Noon and 3 p.m., both Saturday and Sunday. An annual event! Come hear Grammy Award-winning music and comedy from...

Ghost Train

Friday, September 25, 2020 - Saturday, October 31, 2020

Tweetsie Railroad transforms from the Wild West into a haunted park with Halloween thrills and chills for all ages. The highlight of...

The Blowing Rock Music Festival

Saturday, September 12, 2020

Gates open at 8:30am. Rain or Shine. Entertainers from 12 noon until sunset. No Pets, No Umbrellas, Coolers are welcome. VIP tents are...

Appalachian Ski Mountain - Anniversary Weekend

Friday, December 04, 2020 - Sunday, December 06, 2020

Celebrate Appalachian Ski Mountain's 59th year of family fun as they roll back tickets to 1962 prices! $5 Ski Tickets for the Day...

Tweetsie Christmas

Friday, November 27, 2020 - Saturday, December 12, 2020

Celebrate the holiday season as Tweetsie Railroad transforms into a winter wonderland for Tweetsie Christmas! Enjoy a nighttime train...