Elektra Winds in Concert

159 Ginny Stevens Lane, Blowing Rock, NC 28605

(828) 295-9099

Visit Website E-mail

The concert will feature music for wind quartet written by women composers. Seating is limited to so please register in advance!

About the Musicians
Established in 2015, Elektra Winds is a woodwind quartet founded by professional musicians Dr. Laura Dangerfield Stevens, flute; Dr. Anna Lampidis, oboe; Dr. Eileen Young, clarinet; and Ms. Amber Ferenz Spuller, bassoon. The core members of Elektra Winds teach at several colleges and universities in the area including Wake Forest University, Salem College, and UNC-Chapel Hill. Various members of Elektra Winds perform in at least six regional orchestras, including the Greensboro, Winston-Salem, Salisbury, Western Piedmont, and Asheville symphonies.
Elektra Winds Quartet specializes in the performance of music of the 20-th century and actively searches-out and performs music by women composers. Elektra Winds aims to make the Woodwind Quartet a more prominent and visible ensemble choice by continuing to perform professionally and by commissioning new works in future projects. Elektra musicians encourage and enjoy collaborations with other local professionals at a variety of venues. Elektra musicians regularly perform in duo, trio, quintet, and nonet settings, but the woodwind quartet remains the primary ensemble.